Mattie Cowan Scholarship

The Arizona State Cowbelles are proud to offer a scholarship in the amount of $1,500 in memory of Mattie Cowan, our founder and first president of "The Cowbelles" in 1939, and later the first president of the Arizona State Cowbelles in 1947. "The Cowbelles" organization was the foundation for the Arizona State Cowbelles and later the National CowBelle Association which later changed its name to the American National CattleWomen. We are very proud that the primary source for these organizations began in Arizona, with its rich history in camaraderie, ranching and the beef cattle industry.
This scholarship is offered to high school graduates who plan to pursue agriculture degrees in hopes that the knowledge learned from our past continues and grows into the future.

Application deadline is April 15.

Mattie Cowan Scholarship Application


2018 Recipient - Clay Lyman


Graduating from Alpha Omega Academy with a 3.50 GPA, Clay is planning to attend Central Arizona College majoring in Applied Sciences with interests in Welding and Fire Sciences, and to remain in the agricultural/ranching industry.

Clay is a hard worker who does day work for the Winchester and Warbonnet Ranches. Clay is the son of Shane and Rachel Lyman who reside in Elgin, Arizona.



Past ASC Scholarship Recipients

2017   Blake Pruett   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
2016   Amber Walker   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
2015   Christian Frazier   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
2014   Preston Sweatt   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
2013   Laurel Fish   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
2012    Grant Samsill   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
2011   Hollie Wormwood   Mattie Cowan Scholarship  
2010   Arlana Montgomery   Mattie Cowan Scholarship   
2007   Tim Klump      
  Mattie Cowan Scholarship   
    Candice Jonovich   ASC Scholarship
2006   Jenny Brown   Mattie Cowan Scholarship   
    Caitlin Williams    ASC Scholarship 
2005       Katy White    Mattie Cowan Scholarship  
    Lindsey Hughes   ASC Scholarship  
2004   Anna Groseta   Mattie Cowan Scholarship 
    Spencer Prosser   ASC Scholarship  
2003   Gary Thompson   Mattie Cowan Scholarship
    Basilio Aja   ASC Scholarship   
2002   Jarom Lunt   Mattie Cowan Scholarship 
    Angela Noon   ASC Scholarship 
2001   Enoch Malouff   Mattie Cowan Scholarship  

  Katy Groseta   ASC Scholarship  
2000   Lisa Ortega   Mattie Cowan Scholarship  

  Catherine Grumbles   ASC Scholarship

Arizona Cattle Industry Research & Education Foundation (ACIF) Scholarship

2018 Application